I’M SO HAPPY – I HAVE H PYLORI!

ORIGINAL POST:

Well to be fair, I’m still being tested for other things like magnesium and iron deficiencies and c difficile infection, but after nearly a year of investigating other possibilities, including heart issues — and being diagnosed with Neurocardiogenic Syncope — I’m very happy to find that many of these miserable symptoms may be attributed to one nasty little undiagnosed bug:  Helicobacter pylori.

This sneaky creature happily swims in your stomach acid and buries itself in the lining of your stomach and intestines.  Our immune systems h-pylori-invasion-epithelial-cells-mucous-layertypically don’t access the stomach lining well, so joy and long life for those buggers if they go undetected!  And really, a gastrointestinal doctor, or a G.I. for short, is the person who should discover this bug and begin the eradication process.  Shall I tell you how many GIs I’ve seen over the last year?  I was in the hospital for almost a week last April, underwent all kinds of tests, including an endoscopy and colonoscopy, later saw Dr. A. S. [name removed – email me if you plan to see a GI with those initials] in Great Neck, NY at least five times (he finally ended our all-too-brief sessions, in which he did nothing but earn a pretty penny for each five to ten minute visit and run one stool test for parasites, by telling me that he couldn’t do anything else for me), and then saw Dr. C. W., who told me that he believes my problem to be cardiological but ran some tests that my primary doctor had already run (tests he had access to in the computer but clearly didn’t review) when I insisted that the consistent thread in all of my symptoms was gastro-related.

Read More at ORIGINAL POST

Leave a Reply

